Through the Eyes of a Child

Think back to when you were a little kid.  How have you changed?  Did you see the world differently than you do now as a teenager? Why do some of your beliefs and interests change as you grown up?

Remember Warriors Don’t Cry?  Watch this clip to refresh your memory:

Melba and the Little Rock Nine fought to create equality, but as a child volunteering to integrate into the white schools, she was not completely aware of what was happening in the world around her.  When she is prevented from riding the merry-go-round, she knows it is wrong, but she does not understand that racism was the cause.   You can use this understanding to connect to Persepolis and Marji’s experience of growing up.

At the beginning of Persepolis, Marji is a just 10 years old.  Her view on the world is shaped by her age, and it is clear that she does not fully grasp the reality of what is happening in Iran during this time.  What is the effect of Satrapi’s use first person point of view to tell the story?

Examine the two panels below.  They show how a child sees events and experiences.  In the first panel on page 3, the children are misinterpreting the veil and what it truly represents.  They are unaware that the Islamic Revolution is causing this change in their school.  The veil is like a “toy” without meaning.  In the panel on page 22, Satrapi uses graphic elements to convey Marji’s child-like thoughts.  She uses swirling lines and fantasy-like figures to show how Marji interpreted learning that her grandfather was a prince.  How does her perspective influence the story in these panels?

2014-04-29_0004Persepolis page 22

16 thoughts on “Through the Eyes of a Child

  1. ramosdanny says:

    In The blog “Through The Eyes Of A Child” ms.Deiana asked the readers if they changed growing up. Being young my self I can say that I have changed a lot of my beliefs and interests from when I was little. An example is how when I was little I would just go along with my parents thoughts, such as political topics. But now that I am grown, I can say that I have my own opinions on politics, and I don’t just follow my parents thoughts anymore. So yes I do think peoples beliefs can change as they get older.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marinaluddy says:

    When I was a little kid I lived in this world where nothing mattered and everything just made me happy. I’m not saying I’m not happy now ever since I’ve grown up.. I just have a whole different perspective of life and its’ importance. I learned that the decisions you make stay with you forever, they either make things worse for the future or better. Everything you do affects your life and you actually have to think about making smart choices. Bad ones can stay with you forever. As a teen, I feel as if your mind developed more room in your brain to think and you have all these thoughts of your future, how you want to present yourself in this world and you want to become SOMEBODY. The harder you work, the better you do. It becomes more clear because your actions determine what happens. Now, I don’t live as a little girl who always has her mother by her side and making my decisions for me. I make my own and that’s what growing up is. I have certainly felt more emotional as I have grown up. I think, I over think, and it really is different than how you thought as a child. How does everyone else feel?

    Like

  3. iviggiano4 says:

    As a kid I grew up as a very happy child, but I was very shy. Once I started theater I broke out of my shell and became more outgoing, kind of in a way that Marji did not know what the veil was but later learned why she had to wear it. I saw the world very different then I do now, when I was little I used to be obsessed with dolls, Barbies, Polly Pockets any typical girl toy, you name it I had it. One thing I really loved was the dollhouse my parents made me I used to play with the dolls inside and I used to wonder, what if I’m someone’s doll? What if my house is another little girls dollhouse? So every move I made I thought someone was moving me like I did with my dolls. Silly right, until I grew up and learned that the world was not one big dollhouse. Just like Marji I didn’t understand something’s, but as I got older my brain was filed with more knowledge about the world and life.

    Like

  4. susanarredondo14 says:

    I personally have changed my point of view of life from my young age to present time. In a young age you question yourself about a lot of things about life. Once you begin to grow up, you can answer them for yourself and end your doubts. Some of my beliefs changed throughout my life due to the fact I can distinguish what’s right and what’s wrong.

    Like

    • iviggiano4 says:

      i agree with Susan, my point of view had changed a lot just like I mentioned in my comment. Also you do fid out things as you age and figure out the world and the way it works through your own eyes and your perspective.

      Like

  5. lmartin7089 says:

    When I think back to when I was a child I think of simple minded things. As a child you don’t really understand what’s going on in the world around you. Your parents try to keep you away from the bad things happening, such as war and violence, and if they didn’t you probably wouldn’t understand what’s going on. As you grow up and become more educated you understand what happening around the world and you learn about it. Your parents can’t shelter you forever you must learn what’s going on so that you, in the future, can shelter your children and keep them from being exposed to the bad in the world too.

    Like

  6. alinton2 says:

    When I look back at my childhood, I realize my view on the world has completely changed. Looking at the world through the eyes of my 9 year old self I thought the world was a fair, happy place that was mine for the taking. After many experiences I realize that its not always like that. Throughout life this world won’t always be a happy place or a fair one and I may feel like the odds are stacked up against me but I have strength to get through it. I prefer my view today as to my nine year old self actually. It keeps me prepared for the unknown

    Like

  7. tshapiro101 says:

    When I was a child, to me, the world had no bad. Everything was filled with happiness and sunshine except when my mom told me that I couldn’t have dessert. As a child, I was so positive and optimistic about not only myself and my own life, but everything. I was looking at the world through rose colored glasses. I never saw what was actually there. Now, as a teenager, I see everything for exactly what it is. I see the news reports on TV, my phone, on the computer, and hear it at school. I can’t hide from the bad anymore. It’s like the Ebola virus that was all the news talked about for months; once you’ve been exposed, there is no going back. My beliefs changed as I grew up because I now see the whole picture. My parent’s can’t sugar-coat the truth, block the news channel on TV, or lie and tell me that oatmeal cookies taste just like chocolate chip cookies anymore. I know the truth now, and there is no going back.

    http://www.medicaldaily.com/children-adults-see-world-more-differently-thought-239183

    This link above shows that adults and children see the world very differently according to science.

    Like

  8. caddison1 says:

    The child’s perspective of everything that is going on is very different than what an adult would think. As children being told to wear a veil for a reason they don’t understand can be daunting. They don’t understand what it represents and for a 10 year old child being caught in the middle of this horrific event can be traumatizing. They did not understand that it was important to where the veil. They played with it, using it as jump rope or just throwing it on the ground because it is to hot. This influences the panels and story because it shows how she needs to act because it is the law but being a child, they are not able to comprehend the fact that they are in the middle of a war.

    Like

  9. areyes6290 says:

    In both the video pertaining to warriors don’t cry. and the book Persepolis, the main characters have a naïve view of the world. Melba, being a 5-16 year old colored girl, is not aware of what restrictions people of her race had at the time. Throughout the book, this proves to show much significance in how she grows to become more wise and take a more realistic and slightly crueler view of the world. Meanwhile, Persepolis has the same naïve view of the world in the aspect of what rights she has being a women in a time of war.

    Like

  10. lcaballerogabriella says:

    Do I view the world differently now rather than when I was younger? Yes, very differently. I grew up in a bad zone in Queens, New York since i was born, til I was 4. My parents raised me in a way where I thought everything was safe and I was very sheltered. Until my uncle got jumped near our old house; that is when we decided to move here to Stamford. Now that I’m a teenager and going to a public high school has changed my life. I now am aware of what’s going on in the world and I also learned that I can’t trust everyone. It honestly has changed me in some ways; its helped me become more aware of my surroundings and also of the people who I surrounded myself with. It’s part of growing up and how we define ourselves and the choices we make; the good or the bad. Nothing is for sure, but if you know how you are and your place in this world, everything will go smoothly.

    Like

  11. The use of the first person perspective shows the reader that Marji doesn’t really understand what is going on. Instead of wearing the veil, she and her classmates use them as toys and find excuses not to wear them, as shown in the first panel, and she chooses to fantasize about her grandfather as a prince instead of understanding the hardships that her grandfather went through after his father was overthrow. To me, it seems like she sees the entire revolution as a big game where the reward for winning is power. She is very impressionable and seems to like the idea of the revolution and joining the demonstrations, though she doesn’t really understand what they are fighting for, or the danger involved with the demonstrations. In Warriors don’t cry, we see similar themes in the way that Melba doesn’t understand why all of the facilities are separated between black and white people and the danger associated with breaking these rules. A child is very likely to be influenced by what they see around them, and are more likely to want to join a demonstration because they see all of the adults doing it. These influences could ultimately put them in danger, when all a child really wants to do is help.

    Like

  12. krupascott says:

    When I was a younger kid I believed that anything that was told to me from a teacher or parent. Now I feel that my perceptions are influenced by my parents or environment but I still have a mind of my own. This is probably because I now know that I can’t trust everything that I see on the internet or from a person that I would normally trust.

    Like

  13. walkerethan says:

    I changed a lot since i was a child. Now that i am older and more intelligent, i see the world as a totally different place. When i was younger i just followed my parents around and really didn’t think much of what was going on. Now that i am older i’m much more independent and realize what is going on around me.

    Like

    • susanarredondo14 says:

      I agree with Ethan, as you grows up, your able to view life in a completely different perspective. When I was younger I depended on my parents for everything, but now I wan able to for the most part take care of myself. Growing up comes with a lot of responsibility and realizations. You’re able to see what’s going on around you just like Marji was able to know more about the war that was going on.

      Like

  14. kdarcyoliveira says:

    I have changed my point of view so much from when I was younger. I remember I used to just go along with whatever my parents said, because I thought everything they said was right. Even if it was wrong I wouldn’t know they were my role models and everything they did and said to me when I was younger was like Gods word. Not that it was a terrible thing, I have great, loving parents, who were always very moral and caring. But as I grew up I started having different opinions than the adults around me, I was becoming my own person, and in a way I still am. I am only 15 after all. I learned and experiences knew things which made me do things differently then my parents would. I remember whenever I did something that my parents had different opinions on they would always say ” I’m older therefore I’ve lived longer and have had more experience in life.” And I used to believe that but now I have come to realize that yes they are older then me and yes they have gone through many more experiences, But my experiences are different than theirs , they haven’t gone thorough some of the things I now go through. And that’s okay I’ll always have role models that will influence me, but at the end of the day I get to make my own decisions about how I want to be in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

